Music Filler–Gang Starr


“Discipline”

Keith Elam, commonly known by his rap name, Guru, died of cancer April 19th, 2010.

Guru is known, in the hip hop and music community, as one of the pioneers of the hip-hop genre. He became popular for his work in the group Gang Starr, where his intelligent rap lyrics were weaved over hypnotic, iconic jazz beats.

“Discipline,” (the song above) was a new track made for Gang Starr’s 1999 compilation EP, Full Clip: A Decade of Gang Starr, in addition to the amazing intro lyrics:

Yo.. just because I want to it don’t mean I will
And just because I’m angry it don’t mean I’d kill
And just because she looks good it don’t mean I’d hit it
And just because I’m horny, it don’t mean I’m widdit
Just because I make records, don’t mean that I’m gassed
And just because I’m rappin, don’t mean I chase ass
Just beca…use I’m whylin don’t mean I can’t stop
I got discipline baby, and I use it a lot

the song features the 90s Bad Boy Records girl group, Total, singing the hook.

Leave a Reply

