The Cute, The Quirky, The Asians


IMG_0035 (2)I’ve been absent from updating this site simply because that’s just the way it is right now. Hooping, hoop making, and generally hoopy things have taken my time. Here are three hoops I made for clients and a friend.

In the meantime, while I’m sorting out what the world needs and what makes people act dumb, please check out some of the sites on my blogroll. This week I suggest:

Idol Worship: Salvation for the Workshy Congregation [link]

The site is exactly as it says, a fun, quirky, SF-oriented website dedicated to entertaining (distracting) the desk jockeys of the world (unite!). In fact, because of them I found one of my new favorite sites, Asian Poses – The Definite Guide to Asian Poses. [link]

img-1193-poseThat site too, is exactly as it says, a guide to Asian poses. What are Asian poses you ask? And why you ask? Well Asians, particularly those invested in mainstream pop culture (think Japanese Idols), are notorious for their cute and quirky poses. Asian Poses is dedicated to documenting those poses and showing you how you can get your cute and quirky on.

I say it’s about time too. Too often, non-Asian cultures are have been limited to the dull “I’m only smiling in this picture” or “I’m showing my thug face” or the notorious out-of focus, “I’m too cool to act like I’m posing but I’m really posing” picture that became infamous on MySpace or for the females, “I’m posing for all the prisoners in cellblock four” or the “Check me out I could be a model right?” picture.

Now you and me and everybody has no excuses! In addition to writing about the poses, the site author also invites readers to send in their Asian poses through a pose challange. Check out this submission from their reader Samuel.

samuel

Check out their site to see more reader submissions and more poses. And check out this short video to see the 27 poses that have been written about so far.

Leave a Reply

