6 Timewasters for Saving Brains


Isaac Asimov

In “The Eureka Phenomenon,” writer Isaac Asimov wrote about a technique he developed when his mind was “stymied” because he had written himself “into a hole.”

He went to a movie.

But not just any movie, Asimov wrote that the movie had to be, “loaded with action” and not make any, “demands on the intellect.”  When Asimov watched the movie, he did his best to “avoid any conscious thinking” concerning his problem.

After engaging in this activity, Asimov would come out knowing exactly what he would do to put the story back on track. In the spirit of giving you action that makes no demands on your intellect, I present six timewasters for saving your brain.

a

1. Look at this F*&king Hipster

What the f— is a hipster? I don’t know these days. In the Bay Area, people dress so fashionable that you don’t know if they are hipster or ironically hipster. Although, someone told me if I hung out in the Mission district of S.F., I’d see a lot of them.

2. Goths in Hot Weather

I know, it seems like an oxymoron. Don’t goths melt in hot weather? Oh wait, I’m thinking of The Wiz — kinda. This site was recently started and while I’m not too hot about the content, I like the pictures. Here’s to hoping you enjoy it. (And apparently I’m a DidiGoth, too.)

3. Awkward Family Photos

Because there are some things you just need to see for yourself.

4. SNEEZE

When I got sick in the middle of the Swine Flu H1N1 madness, my friend sent me this delightfully twisted game. Sneeze on small group people who then contaminate other people. The goal of the game is to contaminate a certain amount of people each level. I’ve yet to pass level 10. Also features great sound elements.

5. Crush the Castle

I’m only featuring this because it features a trebuchet. I seem to know a lot of people who like trebuchets. It’s just so random. I’d never heard of them until I saw a song listing with trebuchet in the title.

6. Algorithm March

Things like this make me heart Japan. The Algorithm March is a dance fad that was created by a Japanese comedy group who performed the dance on the Japanese children’s show PythagoraSwitch (Pitagora Suichi).

The dance can be performed in lines, canon style, with each person moving forward one step after performing their move. Do it by yourself or with others.

Algorithm March

Leave a Reply

